Selective Memri

Uprootedpalestinians's Blog

Brian Whitaker investigates whether the ‘independent’ media institute that translates the Arabic newspapers is quite what it seems

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2002/aug/12/worlddispatch.brianwhitaker

For some time now, I have been receiving small gifts from a generous institute   in the United States. The gifts are high-quality translations of articles from   Arabic newspapers which the institute sends to me by email every few days,   entirely free-of-charge.

The emails also go to politicians and academics, as well as to lots of other   journalists. The stories they contain are usually interesting.

Whenever I get an email from the institute, several of my Guardian colleagues   receive one too and regularly forward their copies to me – sometimes with a note   suggesting that I might like to check out the story and write about  it.

If the note happens to come from a more senior colleague, I’m left feeling that   I really ought to write about it. One example last…

View original post 1,702 more words

Leave a Reply

